The LILA Awards

The Leader in the Literary Arts (LILA) Awards are bestowed upon those individuals and organizations that significantly contribute to making Ann Arbor a place where the literary arts are nurtured, prized, respected, and thrive. LILA recipients spark our reading and writing passions and make our involvement with literature and books a life-long activity.

2009 LILA Award : John Hilton

2010 LILA Award : Children’s Literacy Network (formerly the Family Book Club), and Nicola Rooney, owner of Nicola’s Books

2011 LILA AwardFamily Learning Institute, and local storyteller Laura Pershin Raynor

2012 LILA Award : Keith Taylor , local poet and writer, and 826 Michigan

2013 LILA Award : Evans Young and Aunt Agatha’s Book Store

2014 LILA Award : Nicola Rooney, longtime AABF board member and former owner of Nicola’s Books; Bill Zirinksy and Ruth Scheckter, co-owners of Crazy Wisdom Bookstore and Tearoom